Working time

Hours of daytime work are according to collective agreements defined as 40 hours pr. week, divided into five eight hours working days from Monday to Friday, and wages determined as weekly or monthly wages. Paid coffee brakes, usually 35 minutes, are included in the 8 hour work day. Day time hours usually start at 07:00 (general workers, industrial workers) but the time they end differs based on what collective agreement applies. For general workers it ends at 17:00 hours but for industrial workers it is usually at 18:00 hours. The decision as to when during this period of daily hours the workers shall work their 8 hours day time work is made at each workplace by the workers and their employer.

Var efnið hjálplegt?